Stop your iPhone from spying on you

As prevously reported, everytime you faucet press the house button to shut an utility, your iPhone takes a screenshot of the display your on with a view to present the zoom out impact of the applying closing.

Jonathan Zdziarski, writer of iPhone Forensics, and iPhone Open Software Growth discovered a method to forestall your iPhone from saving these screenshots:

I discovered that the screenshots themselves really get written to /var/cellular/Library/Caches/Snapshots. Should you delete this folder and symlink it to /dev/null, the screenshots don’t get written to disk. The aspect impact to that is that when resuming an utility, you’ll get the default display within the zoom-in impact. As soon as the applying resumes, nevertheless, you’ll have your utility display again. For instance, your mail utility will all the time zoom to the entrance as if you happen to had an empty inbox, however will rapidly appropriate itself as soon as the applying resumes. On a jailbroken iPhone, you’ll be able to disable these screenshots with the next instructions:

  1. # rm -rf /var/cellular/Library/Caches/Snapshots
  2. # ln -s /dev/null /var/cellular/Library/Caches/Snapshots

“To return to the default conduct, simply delete the symlink and the listing will get recreated. Thoughts you, this has no impact on the various different items of knowledge saved on the iPhone, and subsequently your iPhone will all the time be in danger for leaking non-public knowledge, particularly to seasoned forensic examiners. Use at your personal danger.

Credit score Picture: Gizmodo

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *