How one can simply erase all content material and settings in macOS Monterey

How to erase contents and settings in macOS Monterey
It is simpler than ever to wipe your Mac clear.
Picture: Killian Bell/Cult of Mac

macOS Monterey makes it simpler than ever to take away all of your valuable information out of your Mac when it’s time to promote it or make a contemporary begin. Its new Erase All Content material & Settings characteristic wipes your machine with out forcing to you to reinstall its working system, identical to on iPhone and iPad.

Right here’s the right way to use it.

Erase All Content material & Settings is slightly self-explanatory. It wipes all private content material out of your machine — something that didn’t come preinstalled — and reverts settings again to their defaults whereas leaving macOS intact so there’s no want to put in it yet again.

When the method is full, your Mac is able to be arrange from scratch, as if it have been brand-new. So it’s significantly helpful whenever you’re promoting or making a gift of an previous machine and wish to guarantee your individual information is eliminated earlier than you hand it over.

How one can erase all content material and settings in macOS Monterey

To erase all content material and settings in your Mac operating macOS Monterey, comply with these steps:

  1. Open System Preferences.
  2. Click on System Preferences in your Mac’s menu bar, then choose Erase All Content material and Settings.
  3. Enter your password when prompted, then click on OK. Observe that you could have administrator privileges to make use of this characteristic.
  4. Choose your person account, then click on Proceed.
  5. A popup will seem, confirming you that you’re about to wipe your machine and warning that the method can’t be achieved. Should you’re positive you wish to proceed, click on the Erase All Content material & Settings button.
Monterey-erase-all-content
Click on System Preferences within the menu bar to search out the Erase All Contents & Settings possibility.
Screenshot: Killian Bell/Cult of Mac

Your display might go darkish whereas your Mac is being erased, and your machine will restart a few instances through the course of. Simply depart it to do its factor. When you see the “Good day” display, your Mac has been wiped and is able to be arrange from scratch.

macOS Monterey lands this fall

macOS Monterey makes its official debut this fall, and shall be free to obtain on all suitable machines. You may get your arms on it now by signing up for the general public beta, however keep in mind that betas are a piece in course of, and you could encounter bugs and different instabilities.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *