The way to ship self-destructing media

An illustration with a WhatsApp logo in white set against a green background

Learn to use WhatsApp’s view-once mode on iPhone to ship photographs and movies that robotically self-destruct after solely being seen as soon as.

What’s WhatsApp’s view-once mode and the way does it work?

For an added sheen of privateness, WhatsApp’s view-once mode permits you to ship pictures and movies that may solely be seen as soon as earlier than self-destructing. “For extra privateness, your photograph or video will disappear from the chat after the recipient opens it as soon as,” explains an introductory message proven when utilizing the function for the primary time.

The identical display screen cautions customers that nothing is stopping the recipient from taking a screenshot of your view-once picture or video. “Keep in mind, folks can at all times take screenshots,” it reads.

A screenshot showing a splash screen advertising WhatsApp's view-once mode on iPhone
Picture credit score: WABetaInfo

As a result of WhatsApp lacks a screenshot-detection function, you received’t be notified if the recipient screenshots your disappearing media. Nevertheless, the recipient can’t cease you from seeing that they’ve opened your view-once media no matter whether or not learn receipts are on or off.

Who can use WhatsApp’s view-once mode?

On the time of writing, the corporate was testing the brand new view-once mode with beta testers who use WhatsApp’s 2.21.140.9 beta replace on TestFlight. Don’t see a brand new button resembling a timer within the media caption discipline? If that’s the case, then you definitely’ll have to attend somewhat longer till the function exits beta and will get rolled out to all iPhone customers.

Comply with together with our fast tutorial proper forward to discover ways to ship your photographs and movies utilizing WhatsApp’s useful new view-once mode.

The way to ship photographs and movies in WhatsApp’s view-once mode?

If you have already got this function, open a chat and begin attaching media such as you usually would, then contact the devoted timer button within the caption discipline to activate the view-once mode.

  1. Launch WhatsApp in your iPhone.
  2. Open or begin a brand new chat.
  3. Contact the “+” button close to the textual content entry discipline on the backside.
  4. Select “Photograph and Video Library” from the menu.
  5. Choose a number of photographs or movies out of your cellphone.
  6. Contact the timer button within the caption enter discipline to activate the view-once mode.

Should you choose a number of objects from the library, don’t neglect you possibly can swipe between them to activate view-once mode for every one. Be at liberty to ship view-once media to your WhatsApp associates who don’t have entry to this function as a result of this mode will work for them regardless.

You’ll know that the opposite occasion has seen your content material if the chat bubble reads “Opened”.

A screenshot showing the
Picture credit score: WABetaInfo

Needless to say turning off WhatsApp’s learn receipts received’t stop others from seeing that their view-once picture or video has been opened. Nevertheless, you’ll not see when the recipient opens yours until you’ve learn receipts turned on within the WhatsApp settings (in group chats, you’ll at all times see when members have opened disappearing media).

Defined: View-once media vs. auto-vanishing chats

WhatsApp in November 2021 rolled out the power to ship messages that vanish robotically. With it turned on, WhatsApp auto-deletes any new messages despatched within the particular person or group chat after seven days. Each the connected media and the textual content of the message will vanish after seven days have handed.

→ The way to change your username in WhatsApp on iPhone

The brand new view-once possibility for pictures and movies shouldn’t be confused with WhatsApp’s current disappearing messages. In view-once mode, WhatsApp customers can select to ship self-erasing media with out turning on disappearing messages. The picture or video will self-destruct as quickly because the recipient views or dismisses it.

For additional data, learn a help doc on the WhatsApp web site.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *